Lemons to Lemonade…

So I bought an Xbox 360 on Friday. I did this in large part because my wife and I love Mass Effect and I was tired of sharing our PC to play the game. Now, not a week later Mass Effect 2 is confirmed as coming to the PS3.

I will admit, when I read that a part of me groaned inwardly. Two hundred bucks for a 360 Arcade and one of the few games I was even remotely interested is being ported to a console I’ve had since 2006. That disappointment aside, I’m going to try hard to not feel bitter about this.

The Xbox 360 is still a great console, and I’m going to choose to be happy that I bought one. After all, Mass Effect 1 has yet to be confirmed for the PS3 and even if it winds up on the system, I’ll have enjoyed playing them on my Xbox. Moreover, even if the bulk of Microsoft’s touted exclusives (Halo, Gears of War) inspire little interest in me, there are other games. I really want to get to Alan Wake at some point and maybe, after I’ve knocked off the thirty or so games I still need to finish I’ll invest in Doom 1, 2 and Duke Nukem 3D. You can’t go wrong with the oldies.

Buyer’s remorse is common, but honestly it doesn’t have to be. You just need to try and remain satisfied with what you buy. I could gripe about how I paid six hundred dollars for a backwards compatibile PS3 and haven’t touched a PS2 game in more than a year. I could curse the fact that when I bought my HD TV it cost me a 1200 dollars when I can now find nicer models for half that price. But what’s the point?

I like my TV. I like my PS3 and I’m sure that looking back I’ll have enjoyed my Xbox 360 as well. Now that Wii on the other hand…no, Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance was cool.

This entry was posted in Gaming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

