Late to the Party: Advent Rising


In this episode of Late to the Party I take a look at one my favorite flops, Advent Rising. With a script co-written by Orson Scott Card, a grade A musical score and an attractive presentation you’d think this would have soared like an eagle. Unfortunately it was more of a one winged pigeon. Enjoy the video and please feel free to comment!
(Oh and yes, I know I don’t directly address the alternate modes of Gideon’s psychic powers. I mention Time Shift, but don’t give much mention to the others. I know this could be seen as an oversight, but it doesn’t change the inherent mediocrity of the game’s superpowers.)

This entry was posted in Gaming, Late to the Party, Videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Late to the Party: Advent Rising

  1. Matthew Wood says:

    This is my favorite game that I worked on. It should have done better but it was the dev team’s first real game together. I hope it gets another shot in the future.

  2. Stew Shearer says:

    That would be cool, but alas I fear the window of opportunity has passed. It’s sad because so many of its mistakes could have been easily corrected in sequels.

Leave a Reply

